Free Salesforce Admin Tutorial >

Chapter 7 - Data Security >

Manual Sharing in Salesforce

Manual Sharing in Salesforce

What You’ll Learn


S2 Labs

What Is Manual Sharing In Salesforce?

In Salesforce Manual Sharing, records are shared individually with other users by using the share button on the record. Sometimes it is not possible to define a consistent group of users who need access to a particular record that is where manual sharing comes in. Salesforce Manual Sharing allows the users to share the record with users who would not have access to the record any other way.

Only these 4 users can share the record:

  1. Record Owner
  2. A user in a role above the owner in the role hierarchy.
  3. Users granted “Full Access” to record.
  4. Administrator

Sometimes granting access to records also includes access to their associated records. The sharing button is available when your sharing model is either “Private” or “Public Read-Only” for a type of record or related record.

Records can be shared manually with public groups, roles, roles & subordinates, and individual users.

Note:

Manual sharing cannot restrict access this is the reason it gives Read Only and Read/Write as access parameters in Manual sharing.

Different Types Of Groups, Users, Roles & Territories In Manual Sharing

Types

Description

Public Groups

All public groups are defined by your administrator.

Users

All users in your organization. Does not include portal users.

Roles

All roles are defined for your organization. This includes all of the users in each role.

Roles & Subordinates

All of the users in the role plus all of the users in roles below that role in the hierarchy. Only available when no portals are enabled for your organization

About Audit Trails

Setup Audit Trail tracks the recent setup changes that you and other admins make. Audit history is especially useful when there are multiple admins.

To view the audit history, from Setup, in the Quick Find box, enter View Setup Audit Trail, then select View Setup Audit Trail. To download your organization’s complete setup history for the past 180 days, click Download. After 180 days, set-up entity records are deleted.

The history shows the 20 most recent setup changes made to your org. It lists the date of the change, who made it, and what the change was. If a delegate such as an admin or customer support representative makes a setup change on behalf of an end user, the Delegate User column shows the delegate’s username. For example, if a user grants login access to an admin and the admin makes a setup change, the admin’s username is listed in the Delegate User column. The user granting access is listed in the User column.

Setup Audit Trail tracks changes related to:

  • Administration
  • Profiles
  • Permission Sets/Groups
  • Customization
  • Security and sharing settings
  • Data Management
  • Various Setup
  • Using the application
salesforce cloud

Download Study Material

Get access to exclusive study material for Salesforce Certification and ace your exams!

Download Now

Our Salesforce Certification Courses

Hey there! Glad you made it through our Salesforce Developer Training for beginners . But wait! We've got some high-in-demand Salesforce courses for you to take your Salesforce skills to the next level, making you a desired professional in the Salesforce job market.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *